We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Thursday October 19, 2023 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£49, £45, £37, £30, £24, £20
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Phone lines open: Monday – Friday 12 noon – 6pm
Other Sources: Box Office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Don Juan Op 20 - Richard Strauss
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  3. Finlandia - Jean Sibelius
  4. Symphony No 2 in B minor Op 26 - Boris Lyatoshynsky

The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine has long been one of the most distinguished European orchestras, achieving worldwide recognition through its many international tours which include Australia, the US, Europe and Asia.

It has announced it will return to the UK for the first time in over 20 years next autumn with a rich programme of music by Richard Strauss, Bruch, Sibelius, and Ukrainian composer Borys Lyatoshynsky.

Richard Strauss is most well known for his collection of great tone poems, of which Don Juan is perhaps the most exuberant and best loved by concert audiences. Composed in 1888, it is a work by a young man at the top of his form; a life-affirming inclusion in this programme.

Bruch belongs to that small group of composers who are really only known for one work – the Violin Concerto in G minor. But what a work it is, perhaps the most performed of all violin concertos, simply – and justifiably – because it is beloved by audiences the world over for its poetic beauty, deeply moving melodies and elegant musicality. Almost all violinists include this great Concerto in their repertoire and with good reason.

Sibelius wrote his patriotic Finlandia in response to the Russian invasion of his own beloved country. It is therefore understandable that Ukrainian musicians identify with this work of resolute defiance. It is aptly chosen for inclusion in this programme and we look forward to the NSOU’s heartfelt performance.

Boris Lyatoshynsky who died in 1968 is regarded as the father of Ukrainian contemporary music. His Second Symphony is a particularly fine work and in its dramatic accessibility is a major statement of Ukrainian national solidarity.

‘We are deeply grateful to the UK venues and tour promoters who are working with us to ensure this ambitious tour happens. We can’t wait to return to the UK after more than two decades and have the opportunity to perform to UK audiences all over the country.’ (Alexander Hornostai, NSOU managing director and producer)

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace

This advertisement was submitted by Cadogan Hall Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.