We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Romeo and Juliet Forever: Pekka Kuusisto conducts Philharmonia Orchestra

Thursday March 23, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£15-£70; multi-buy offer available; under 18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse (limited availability)
Phone for tickets: 0800 652 6717
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. I Capuleti e I Montecchi - Vincenzo Bellini
  2. Clarinet Concerto, 'Weathered' (UK premiere) - Anna Clyne
  3. Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  4. Symphonic Dances, from West Side Story - Leonard Bernstein

As long as teenagers fall in love, the story of Romeo and Juliet will never go out of fashion.

Pekka Kuusisto brings together three composers’ takes on Shakespeare’s story, from the ‘Sinfonia’ that opens Bellini’s 1830 opera The Capulets and the Montagues, to Bernstein’s 1957 Broadway triumph West Side Story. Bellini’s trumpets and drums foretell a fatal battle, Tchaikovsky frames his yearning love theme with music full of anxiety and violence. And Bernstein captures the febrile energy and passion of adolescence in memorable numbers including ‘Somewhere’ and ‘Mambo’.

“Until you’ve heard Martin Fröst, you really haven’t heard the clarinet”, according to The Times. Well now’s your chance – the extraordinarily talented Fröst is the soloist in a new concerto, Weathered, by our Featured Composer Anna Clyne. The concerto is in five short movements, each describing a different material being weathered – worn down, re-shaped, damaged, but perhaps also rendered more beautiful and more precious.

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road

This advertisement was submitted by Philharmonia Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.