We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Santtu conducts Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich | Philharmonia Orchestra

Thursday April 27, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£15-£70; multi-buy offer available; under 18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse (limited availability)
Phone for tickets: 0800 652 6717
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Karelia Suite Op 11 - Jean Sibelius
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 35 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  3. Symphony No 9 in E flat Op 70 - Dmitry Shostakovich

Charismatic soloist Randall Goosby joins us in Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto.

Tchaikovsky wrote his captivating Violin Concerto on holiday by Lake Geneva with the young student he hoped would premiere it. Tonight it is in the hands of brilliant American violinist Randall Goosby. A warm and approachable communicator, acclaimed for his “lively, expansive” playing (The Guardian), he is fast becoming a favourite with audiences on this side of the Atlantic.

Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony dates from 1945, just after the end of the Second World War. The Soviet authorities were expecting a grand celebration of Russia’s victory. Instead Shostakovich came up with one of his most subversive and sardonic works. He abandons heroics for irreverent humour, and epic seriousness for Haydnesque simplicity and high spirits.

The concert opens with the distant horn-calls of Sibelius’s Karelia Suite. Two short cheerful, martial movements frame a peaceful Ballade featuring gorgeous woodwind solos.

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road

This advertisement was submitted by Philharmonia Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.