We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Santtu conducts Stravinsky II: Petrushka | Philharmonia Orchestra

Sunday May 21, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£15-£70; multi-buy offer available; under 18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse (limited availability)
Phone for tickets: 0800 652 6717
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Lieutenant Kijé Suite Op 60 - Sergey Prokofiev
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 2 in G minor Op 63 - Sergey Prokofiev
  3. Petrushka (1947) - Igor Stravinsky

Santtu’s two-concert focus on Stravinsky and Prokofiev continues with the captivating ballet score Petrushka, and Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto.

The year after the success of The Firebird (featured in our 18 May concert), Diaghilev commissioned another ballet score from Stravinsky. The result was Petrushka, the tale of three puppets brought to life by the bewitching flute melody of the Magician. Petrushka loves the Ballerina, but she only has eyes for the dashing Moor…

Prokofiev’s Lieutenant Kijé Suite is perhaps best known for its fourth movement, ‘Troika’, depicting a winter sleigh ride. Taken from his first film score, the suite is a beguiling blend of humour, romance, pathos and satire.

It paves the way for one of the great 20th century violin concertos. Esther Yoo brings her “superb self-possession [and]… deep and penetrating tone” (The Telegraph) to the solo part. The concerto balances lyricism and virtuosity with a darker edge – a hint of the turmoil and pain of the First World War and the impending Russian Revolution.

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road

This advertisement was submitted by Philharmonia Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.