We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Tchaikovsky's Fifth | Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Thursday May 4, 2023 at 19:30
Queen's Hall, Edinburgh
Phone for tickets: 0131 557 6800
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Suite No 2, from Incidental music to The Tempest Op 109 - Jean Sibelius
  2. Concerto for viola and orchestra (Scottish premiere) - Cassandra Miller
  3. Symphony No 5 in E minor Op 64 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky, arranged for chamber ensemble by George Morton

Passions, hopes and desires, in a gripping journey from funereal darkness to blazing glory. Tchaikovsky poured his soul into the Fifth Symphony, and the result is romantic music at its most heartfelt.

Powerful Finnish conductor John Storgårds brings this concert to a thrilling climax with an intimate chamber orchestra arrangement of Tchaikovsky’s most emotional symphony.

Beforehand, outstanding British viola player Lawrence Power is the soloist and dedicatee of a new concerto by the remarkable Canadian composer Cassandra Miller, one of the most exciting, free thinking figures in contemporary music.

Sibelius’ rich and potent music for Shakespeare’s stormy final drama makes a magical opening to the concert.

*Co-commissioned by BBC Radio 3, Brussels Philharmonic, National Arts Centre, Ottawa, Canada and Scottish Chamber Orchestra, supported by The Viola Commissioning Circle.

Queen's Hall
Clerk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Scottish Chamber Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.