We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

LSO Futures: World Firsts | London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday May 28, 2023 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£65 £49 £35 £24 £18; £10/£15 Wildcard tickets; £5 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fanfares - Cassie Kinoshi
  2. Symphonic Message: 'Wach auf!' (world premiere) - Jonathan Woolgar
  3. Music for strings, percussion and celesta Sz 106 - Bela Bartók
  4. D'un soir triste - Lili Boulanger
  5. Mosaics (world premiere) - Colin Matthews

François -Xavier Roth makes musical history, with word premieres fresh from the imaginations of some of the boldest and brightest living composers.

Twelve notes, infinite possibilities. Orchestral music is like a mosaic, and there’s no end to the bold new sounds that composers can create. Bartók splits a string orchestra and unlocks blinding new energy; Lili Boulanger paints brooding nocturnes in sound. And three living creators – Cassie Kinoshi, Jonathan Woolgar and Colin Matthews – each show us something completely new.

So there’s every reason to be excited. Colin Matthews has been called ‘the Brunel of contemporary music’. Cassie Kinoshi’s jazz projects have been nominated for a Mercury Prize, and Jonathan Woolgar’s ‘Wach auf’ caused quite a stir when we tried it out last year. Three very different voices, but we think you’ll want to hear what they have to say.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.