We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Elizabeth Sombart plays Mozart with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Sunday March 12, 2023 at 15:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£40, £35, £28, £20, £15; students and under 25s: half price
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 38 in D, 'Prague' K 504 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 23 in A K 488 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 27 in B flat K 595 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart’s piano concertos are peerless examples of the genre, providing not only a unique insight into his creative world, but also his own supreme pianistic ability. In the second of two Sunday afternoon concerts at Cadogan Hall with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Elizabeth Sombart presents another pair of these sublime masterpieces.

The richly colourful ‘Prague’ Symphony is followed by the piano concerto known to have been specially prized by Mozart himself. The outer movements of No 23 glow with a sense of warm contentment, full of seemingly endless melodic inspiration.

By contrast, intense sadness lurks beneath the surfaces of the final work in the series, Concerto No 27 in B flat, written shortly before the composer’s untimely death. Predominantly major keys are subtly coloured with minor to create an extraordinary sense of poignancy, and the music’s skipping rhythms are tinged with a wistful intensity which suggests Mozart somehow knew his end was in sight.

The concert is introduced by the broadcaster and author John Suchet.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace

This advertisement was submitted by Archery Promotions.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.