We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Building Blochs and Birkenstocks | London Mozart Players

Saturday February 4, 2023 at 19:30
Fairfield Halls, Croydon
£36.75, £31.75, £26.75, £21.75, £16.75, £10
Phone for tickets: 0300 500 0595
Phone lines open: Mon - Wed: 9am to 5pm. Thu - Fri: 9am to 8pm. Sat to Sun: 1pm - 8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Excerpts, from Incidental music to A Midsummer Night's Dream - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Schelomo: Rhapsodie hébraïque, for cello and orchestra - Ernest Bloch, arranged for cello and chamber orchestra by George Morton
  3. Prayer, from From Jewish Life, for cello and piano - Ernest Bloch, arranged for cello, harp and strings by Christopher Palmer
  4. Symphony No 4 in A, 'Italian' Op 90 - Felix Mendelssohn

Rome wasn’t built in a day and great composers didn’t write their music overnight. Inspired by the world around them and the way it made them feel, Mendelssohn and Bloch drew upon their life experiences when they put pen to paper to compose the music you’ll hear in tonight’s concert.

In his early twenties, Felix Mendelssohn did what most of us dream of doing and packed his bags, donned his Birkenstocks, waved goodbye to his home country Germany and set off on a grand tour of Italy. Like a true tourist he travelled through Rome, Naples and Milan, documenting his rendezvous through a series of drawings, watercolour paintings and, most famously, sketches of music that would ultimately emerge as his Symphony no.4, aptly referred to as his ‘Italian’ Symphony. Filled with dance and folk references and inspired by his musical imagination, Mendelssohn’s musical postcard transports us to Southern Europe with one of his best-loved compositions.

Written during WWI, Bloch’s Schelomo is an expression of the composer trying to find his musical identity, which is grounded in Jewish roots, as he tries to reconcile his long-standing heritage with his modern life. Based on his interpretation of what he thought Jewish music could sound like, Bloch’s concerto sings through the cello as it mourns the suffering of the war and attempts to find a voice in the aftermath. Cellist superstar Sheku Kanneh-Mason joins us as the soloist for Bloch’s expressive work.

Fairfield Halls
Park Lane

This advertisement was submitted by London Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.