We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

East Oxford Community Choir and Orchestra

Saturday April 22, 2023 at 19:30
St Michael and All Angels' Church, Abingdon
£13, £11 (over 60s), £10 (students), £3 (under 18s)
Phone for tickets: 01865 305305
Phone lines open: 12pm-6pm Mon - Sat
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for piano and orchestra No 2 in C minor Op 18 - Sergei Rachmaninoff
  2. Spring, for baritone, chorus and orchestra Op 20 - Sergey Rachmaninoff
  3. 7 Paroles du Christ en Croix - César Franck

Ths concert is a celebration of the music of Rachmaninoff, 150 years after his birth. The beautiful melodies of the 2nd piano concerto are followed by the one movement Spring Cantata, composed in 1902, just after the concerto. Based on a poem by Nekrasov, this dramatic piece tells of the triumph of Spring over Winter: a jealous husband abandons his intentions to maurder his wife when Spring urges love, tolerance and forgivenesss.

The work by Cesar Franck was composed in 1859 but was only discovered in 1955 and is rarely perfomred, unlike the settings of the Seven Last Words by Haydn and Schutz.

St Michael and All Angels' Church
Park Road
OX14 1DS

This advertisement was submitted by Anne Baker.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.