We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

O my Son! The genius of Cornysh and Weelkes

Saturday April 1, 2023 at 19:30
St Pancras Church, London
Advance Tickets: £12/ £10 (concessions) Availability limited to 30 tickets only. Once sold out, tickets will be available at the standard price of £14/ £12 (concession)
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Stabat Mater - William Cornysh
  2. Woefully arrayed - William Cornysh
  3. Portio mea, Domine - Robert White
  4. Laboravi in gemitu meo - Thomas Weelkes
  5. Laboravi in gemitu meo - Philippe Rogier
  6. O Jonathan, woe is me - Thomas Weelkes
  7. When David heard - Thomas Weelkes
  8. Vox in Rama - George Kirbye
  9. Vox in Rama - Jacobus Clemens Non Papa
  10. When David heard - Thomas Tomkins

For Lent we present a programme of emotive, penitential music as we celebrate the anniversaries of two great English composers.

William Cornysh, who died in 1523, was one of the most important exponents of the dazzlingly florid ‘Eton style’. His Stabat Mater is rarely sung: a turbulent, coruscating canvas of colour and feeling, it is the antithesis of the music of his direct contemporary, Josquin.

Thomas Weelkes, who died in 1623, was a giant of the Jacobean period, though his career was blighted by alcoholism. He excelled in writing madrigals as much as in sacred music. In Laboravi we find him channelling continental influences to great effect, while his celebrated lamentation, When David heard, may have been part of a great national outpouring of grief for the sudden death of Prince Henry, heir to the English throne, in 1612.

St Pancras Church
Euston Road

This advertisement was submitted by The Renaissance Singers.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.