We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

20 Years of Quatuor Modigliani

Thursday June 8, 2023 at 19:30
Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford
£9-£50 | £4.50- £25 concessions
Phone for tickets: 01865 244806
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm | Saturday and Sunday: Closed
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. String Quartet No 58 in G Op 54 No 1 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  2. Italian Serenade in G - Hugo Wolf
  3. Newly commissioned piece for Quatuor Modigliani's 20th anniversary - Jean-Frédéric Neuburger
  4. String Quartet No 13 in B flat Op 130 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  5. Grosse Fuge Op 133 - Ludwig van Beethoven

The Paris based Quatuor Modigliani, founded in 2003, is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2023 and Music at Oxford is thrilled to be bringing them to Oxford for the very first time, to celebrate. Originally formed at the Conservatoire de Paris, the quartet are now considered one of the world’s best.

The programme features a selection of the Quartet’s favourite pieces including a new work by Jean Frédéric Neuburger commissioned specifically for their anniversary. The conclusion of the concert will be Beethoven’s String Quartet No 13, Op 130, one of his renowned late quartets. The finale of the work will be Beethoven’s Grand Fugue Op 133.

There’s a bright, youthful spark to the Modigliani quartet’s playing –and I mean youthful in the best possible way‘ The Guardian

One of today’s best quartets in the world… Balance, transparency, symphonic comprehension, confident style, their performance reached a very high and inspiring level.’ Süddeutsche Zeitung

Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street

This advertisement was submitted by Music at Oxford.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.