We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Les Siècles/François-Xavier Roth

Tuesday June 20, 2023 at 19:30
Barbican Hall, London
from £15
Phone for tickets: 020 7870 2500
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 12pm to 4pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune - Claude Debussy
  2. Invitation to the Dance, for piano Op 65 - Carl Maria von Weber, orchestrated by Hector Berlioz
  3. D'un soir triste - Lili Boulanger
  4. Daphnis et Chloë - Maurice Ravel

Les Siècles and their conductor François-Xavier Roth bring their extraordinary sonic textures and native sensibilities to evocative masterpieces of the French repertoire.

For this rare London appearance, the French orchestra and its founder François-Xavier Roth bring their special insight to music from their own country. Debussy’s revolutionary Prélude pulls us into the sensuous magical forest of the faun. Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé also carries us away into a vivid fantasy world of nymphs, shepherds and pirates. Written on her death bed, Lili Boulanger’s D’un soir triste is a powerful, unsettling work, and an important reminder of the tragic loss of an extraordinary talent aged only 24.

Using original instruments, Les Siècles’ performances are both meticulously historical and ‘powerfully fresh’ (The Times). Sounds come off the page in thrilling detail and we hear textures we never knew existed. Tonight will be no different: a chance to hear French music as you’ve never heard it before.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.