We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Vivaldi's The Four Seasons with Europa Galante and Nardus Williams (soprano)

Thursday October 12, 2023 at 19:30
Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London
from £15
Phone for tickets: 020 7870 2500
Phone lines open: 12pm-4pm Mon - Fri
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Le quattro stagioni, 'The Four Seasons' Op 8 - Antonio Vivaldi
  2. Suite, from The Fairy Queen Z 629 - Henry Purcell
  3. Like clouds, stormy winds them impelling, from The Triumph of Time and Truth HWV 71 - George Frideric Handel
  4. Da tempeste, from Giulio Cesare HWV 17 - George Frideric Handel

Rising star Nardus Williams and period instrument ensemble Europa Galante enter a world of Baroque brilliance in a programme of music by Vivaldi, Handel and Purcell.

A man of contradictions, Vivaldi was both an ordained priest with little interest in the Church, and a virtuoso violinist who loved showing off. Concertos such as the Four Seasons provided the perfect vehicle for his talents – but offer so much more than technical wizardry, each piece vividly conjuring up the changing seasons and the splendours of nature.

Winner of the Rising Talent award at the 2022 International Opera Awards, British soprano Nardus Williams combines an exceptionally supple voice with acting flair, perfect for navigating the nuances of Purcell and Handel. Italian ensemble Europa Galante, directed by conductor-violinist Fabio Biondi, plays this repertoire with such freshness that the music sounds as though it could have been written yesterday.

Milton Court Concert Hall, Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Silk Street

Nardus Williams

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.