We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Symphony Orchestra of India (1 of 2)

Thursday November 30, 2023 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
from £18
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 12 noon to 6pm
Other Sources: Cadogan Hall Box Office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Suite from 'Der Rosenkavalier' Op 59 - Richard Strauss
  2. Triple Concerto, for bansuri, sitar and tabla - Zakir Hussain
  3. Petrushka (1911) - Igor Stravinsky

Cadogan Hall is very pleased to welcome back, after its last visit to Cadogan Hall in February 2019, the Symphony Orchestra of India. The first of this pair of concerts will be conducted by the brilliant young British conductor of Indian descent Alpesh Chauhan.

The concert begins with a suite of orchestral music from Richard Strauss’s opulent opera Der Rosenkavalier and the concert will end with one of the great 20th century masterpieces by Stravinsky with its surging rhythms and vivid colours, Petrushka.

The concert will also feature perhaps the greatest musician in the Indian classical tradition, the tabla player Zakir Hussain. With his trio he will perform a work commissioned especially for this tour, his exciting Triple Concerto.

‘One was left in no doubt about the impact of this symphony. It was a staggering performance… Chauhan is a phenomenal talent…’ In Daily

Part of the Zurich International Orchestra Series 2023-24

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace

This advertisement was submitted by Cadogan Hall Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.