We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Come Follow Me: Echoes, Canons and Birdsong for recorder, violins and continuo

Tuesday July 25, 2023 at 20:00
Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford
£18 / £9 concessions / under 26s free
Phone for tickets: 01865 305305
Phone lines open: Mon-Sat 12pm-6pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out

A programme of echoes, canons, and other three-part violin music from the baroque, featuring Pachelbel’s Canon and Purcell’s bewitching Three parts upon a Ground.

The programme also includes Marini’s ‘Sonata in Ecco con tre Violini’, in which the two echoing violins are instructed to remain hidden out of sight.

Schmelzer’s Sonata a tre violini further explores the unusual sonority of three interweaving violin parts. William Williams’s Trio Sonata for recorder and violin, and Walther’s solo sonata 'Imitatione del Cuccu' evoke a woodland environment, full of echoes and birdsong. We play with the idea of the cathedral and the forest being an echo of each other’s environment in Marais’s Sonnerie de St Geneviève du Mont de Paris.

This concert is part of the Instruments of Time and Truth Summer Concert Series 2023, and is generously supported by John Osborn.

Instruments of Time and Truth are Oxford’s own period instrument orchestra, presenting world-class performances of baroque and classical music in Oxford and around the UK.

Free tickets are available for audience members under 26 thanks to the support of the Cavatina Chamber Music Foundation.

Discover a world of music and enjoy all 6 of Instruments of Time and Truth's Summer Concerts at Christ Church for a reduced price with a series season ticket available from Tickets Oxford until 3rd July here

Christ Church Cathedral
St Aldate's

This advertisement was submitted by Instruments of Time and Truth .
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.