We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Tchaikovsky and Brahms | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday December 7, 2023 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£70 £55 £39 £25 £18, £12/£16 Wildcard tickets, £6 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in D minor Op 15 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique' Op 74 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Deeply private, deeply felt: Tchaikovsky and Brahms pour out their emotions in an ardent torrent of music.

Menacing violins open Johannes Brahms’s First Piano Concerto. His mentor, Robert Schumann, had recently attempted to take his own life, and had been committed to a sanatorium. Brahms rushed to support Schumann’s wife, Clara, but soon, tender feelings developed on both sides. The contemplative second movement was, Brahms told her, ‘a portrait of you.’

In his letters, Tchaikovsky said that the meaning of his Sixth Symphony would remain a secret from audiences. We do know one thing: by ending it not with a triumphant finale but with an intimate lament, he created new, intensely personal possibilities for the musical form.

Simon Trpceski’s feeling for Brahms shines through in his performances. With Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda at the helm, the LSO burns brightly too.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.