We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Music of Tomorrow – LSO Futures | London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday April 7, 2024 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£70 £55 £39 £25 £18, £12/£16 Wildcard tickets; £6 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Aquarium Drifter (world premiere, LSO Panufnik commission) - Christian Drew
  2. Spira - Concerto for orchestra - Unsuk Chin
  3. Nachtergebung - Concerto for cello and orchetra (UK premiere) - Donghoon Shin
  4. Hateful Grace (world premiere, LSO Panufnik commission) - Stef Conner
  5. Concerto for Orchestra Sz 116; BB 123 - Bela Bartók

Vivid, moreish music by Unsuk Chin and Donghoon Shin, plus beguiling works by emerging talents, conducted by François-Xavier Roth.

Unsuk Chin’s glimmering Spira grows out of the resonance of two vibraphones, its title referencing the ‘marvellous spiral’ that a 17th century mathematician observed all over the natural world. Donghoon Shin’s eloquent Cello Concerto is inspired by the eerie visions of Austrian poet Georg Trakl.

And how do emerging composers begin to collaborate with major orchestras? The London Symphony Orchestra’s Panufnik Composers Scheme sets out to bring them together. This year, the scheme culminates in this concert, which presents world premieres by rising stars Christian Drew and Stef Conner.

François-Xavier Roth, Principal Guest Conductor of the LSO, leads the Panufnik Composers Scheme workshops each year, and the musicians of the LSO collaborate closely with the composers. Their relish for this creative challenge fuels every note of the performance.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.