We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Transformed Lives | City of London Sinfonia

Saturday April 20, 2024 at 19:00
St John's Smith Square, London
£25, £20, £15 / concessions: £20, £15, £10
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Langsamer Satz, for string quartet - Anton von Webern
  2. Concerto for oboe and orchestra in D AV 144 - Richard Strauss, arranged for oboe and strings by Iain Farrington
  3. Adagietto, from Symphony No 5 in C sharp minor - Gustav Mahler
  4. Verklärte Nacht, for string orchestra (1943 revision) Op 4 - Arnold Schoenberg

Join us for a programme of heavenly music inspired by lifechanging moments in the lives of the featured composers, in the beautiful surroundings of St John's Smith Square.

We start the evening with Webern’s Slow Movement, an emotionally charged piece which was inspired by a hiking holiday outside Vienna with Webern’s future wife. This stands in stark opposition to Strauss’s Oboe Concerto, written after World War II when Strauss met an American soldier who in civilian life was the principal oboist of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

The programme also includes Mahler’s hauntingly beautiful Adagietto from his Symphony No 5, which the composer sent to his future wife Alma instead of a love letter. They were engaged a month later and married within the year.

The evening culminates with Schoenberg’s Transfigured Night, based on a poem by Richard Dehmel, in which a woman tells her partner that she is pregnant with another man’s child. Criticized at the time of publication for its content, which stood in stark contrast to Viennese morals, the poem is now a celebrated work of art, as is the music it inspired.

St John's Smith Square
Smith Square

This advertisement was submitted by City of London Sinfonia.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.