We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Kavakos plays Bach: Part 1 of 2

Thursday May 2, 2024 at 19:30
Barbican Hall, London
from £15
Phone for tickets: 020 7870 2500
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 12pm to 4pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Partita No 3 in A minor BWV827 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Sonata No 2 in A minor for solo violin BWV 1003 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Sonata for solo violin No 3 in C BWV 1005 - Johann Sebastian Bach

In the first of two concerts, Leonidas Kavakos performs three works from J S Bach’s Six Solo Violin Sonatas and Partitas, each one an intimate, intricate masterpiece.

The sense that Bach was challenging himself in these six pieces is palpable throughout the set. Each one exhibits the quality of striving to work through a puzzle, reaching a solution using an internal musical logic yet with a profound emotional undercurrent. Bach was so pleased with the Prelude of the Partita No 3 that he transcribed it twice, while the Sonata No 2 combines improvisatory passages with melodic brilliance, and the Third Sonata boasts a majestic fugue.

Kavakos has received widespread praise for his recordings of these works, revealing an approach to Bach’s music that is deeply sincere without being excessively reverential. ‘… a dazzling range of articulation, which makes the various dance movements really zing’ (BBC Music Magazine).

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.