We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Dvorak's Symphony No 9, From the New World

Sunday February 25, 2024 at 14:30
Royal & Derngate, Northampton
£17, £27, £37, £44; book 2 concerts to save 10%; members enjoy an additional 5% off
Phone for tickets: 01604 624811
Phone lines open: Tuesday to Saturday: (10am to 6pm)
Other Sources: Box Office Counter: Tuesday to Saturday (12pm-6pm)
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Leonore Overture No 3 Op 72 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Concerto No 1 in C for cello and orchestra Hob VIIb:1 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  3. Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World' Op 95 - Antonín Dvorák

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra continue their 2023/24 season at the Derngate with a piece made famous by bread (of all things!), known as the music from Hovis’ ‘Boy on the Bike’ adverts. Written during a trip to America, it combines Dvorák’s signature Czech rhythms with the sounds of American spirituals.

RPO Artist-in-Residence Zlatomir Fung performs Haydn’s Cello Concerto in C major. Unearthed in 1961, two centuries after it was written, it swiftly gained popularity for its sense of joy and optimism from the cello’s triumphant opening chord in the first movement. Virtuosic and vivacious displays of musical agility are heard in the rapturous third movement with its dancing melody shared between the soloist and Orchestra.

Royal & Derngate
19-21 Guildhall Road

This advertisement was submitted by Northamptonshire Arts Management Trust .
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.