We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Music of Today: Wu Wei (sheng) - Artist Portrait

Friday April 5, 2019 at 18:00
Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre, London
£14, £8
Phone for tickets: 020 7921 3907
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday 09:30 - 17:30
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Hehkuu, for sheng and ensemble - Jukka Tiensuu
  2. The wind sounds in the sky for sheng, cello and percussion - Guoping Jia
  3. Lost prayer book, for sheng and ensemble - Ondrej Adámek

An ancient Chinese musical instrument is put in new musical contexts in this fascinating programme for sheng and orchestral ensemble.

Virtuoso Wu Wei has made the Sheng - an ancient Chinese wind instrument - into an innovative force in contemporary music that crosses traditional genre boundaries. In this special Music of Today performance in the Queen Elizabeth Hall, he performs three contrasting works for sheng and orchestral ensemble with the Philharmonia.

Finnish composer Jukka Tiensuu's Hehkuu exploits the different properties of the sheng all the way from shimmering sonorities to high voltage rhythms; Guoping Jia's The wind sounds in the sky fuses traditional Chinese music with elements of Western classical composition.

The programme culminates with a new piece for sheng and ensemble by Czech composer Ondrej Adámek, whose music was described by Ivan Hewett in The Telegraph as "sharp, brilliant". Adamek's highly theatrical music and innovative musical language will create new an entirely new context for sheng and orchestral ensemble.

Ondrej Adámek's New work for sheng and ensemble is jointly commissioned by Philharmonia Orchestra, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble 2e2m, Asko Ensemble.

Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre
South Bank
This advertisement was submitted by Philharmonia Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.