We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Soloists from Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra: Petite symphonie

Thursday May 9, 2019 at 19:30
Holywell Music Room, Oxford
£20 (students £5)
Phone for tickets: 01865 908980
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 6pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Serenade for wind instruments No 12 in C minor K 388 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Petite symphonie, for wind ensemble - Charles Gounod
  3. Mládí, for wind sextet - Leoš Janácek
  4. Sixtuor, for flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon and horn - Jean Françaix

Only in his eighth decade did Leoš Janácek allow the spirit and enthusiasm of youth to impregnate his works, but when he did the result was life-affirming. That is exemplified by Mladi, a wind sextet that bubbles forth with generosity and warmth from a grateful composer who waited many years for recognition. Wind soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra present the work here alongside charming works for wind from France offset by the alluring nocturnal darkness of Mozart's C minor Wind Serenade.

Holywell Music Room
Holywell Street
This advertisement was submitted by Georgia Goody-Miceli.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.