We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Beethoven the Revolutionary: The Creatures of Prometheus

Saturday June 25, 2022 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£15 - £45
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Leonore Overture No 3 Op 72 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Ah! perfido, aria for soprano and orchestra Op 65 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. The Creatures of Prometheus Op 43 - Ludwig van Beethoven (with narration written by Gerard McBurney)

We are sorry to announce that Sir Andrew Davis has had to withdraw from this performance due to illness. We are grateful to Christoph Altstaedt for stepping in to conduct at such short notice.

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and John Suchet on a journey through the powerful and inspirational world of ‘Beethoven: The Revolutionary’.

Beethoven lived through a time of extraordinary political upheaval – war and revolution had torn up the old aristocratic ruling system of Europe and the new United States of America. Beethoven fervently believed in democracy and the rights of the ordinary man. It is hard not to see those revolutionary ideas in his opera Fidelio, which tells the story of a man who has been imprisoned for his political ideas but is saved by the sheer determination of his wife, Leonore. Tonight Christoph Altstaedt conducts one of the four overtures that Beethoven composed for the opera, a powerful work which easily stands alone on the concert platform.

There is also surely no mistake in Beethoven’s choice to compose music for a ballet of the story of Prometheus – the god who defied Apollo to give humans the gift of fire. Christoph Altstaedt conducts the Orchestra in a performance that features narration written by Gerard McBurney.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.