We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra/Daniel Harding

Saturday November 5, 2022 at 19:30
Barbican Hall, London
£15, £25, £35, £55, £75
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. mais le corps taché dombres, for harp and strings - Rick van Veldhuizen
  2. Symphony No 9 in D - Gustav Mahler

One old, one new: the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra perform two works fraught with tension, shrouded in darkness, and finally, a breakthrough to the beyond. The tumultuous rollercoaster of life is one we can all relate to, but perhaps no-one writes it better than Mahler in his achingly haunting Symphony No 9: an ode to life, death, and the joys of the time in between. And we hear echoes of Mahler’s swooping melodies in Rick van Veldhuizen’s mais le corps taché d'ombres, alongside the tightly knit counterpoint of Berg and Ligeti. The sounds of 1970s disco divas are in there too, because what is life without a dance? Beginning fragmented and isolated, mais le corps is a spider’s web of phrases drifting towards a final unity.

It’s been six years since the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra were last resident here, and what a lot we’ve all been through since. Tonight is surely a reminder to enjoy what you have while you have it, and there’s no better way to do that than through music.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.