We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Iceland Symphony Orchestra with Eva Ollikainen and Stephen Hough

Wednesday April 26, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11.50 - £38.50
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 10am to 8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Metacosmos - Anna Thorvaldsdottir
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 3 in C minor Op 37 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Symphony No 5 in E minor Op 64 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s spellbinding music was an abiding memory from the Iceland Symphony Orchestra’s first visit to Nottingham in 2020, so we’re delighted that this concert opens with her recent acclaimed tone poem, Metacosmos, a darkly atmospheric meditation on beauty and chaos. Also making a welcome return is the British polymath pianist, Stephen Hough, who’ll be playing Beethoven’s 1803 Third Piano Concerto. Bearing the imprint of Mozart’s dark-hued 24th Piano Concerto – a favourite of Romantic composers – its extra expressive punch and taut structure announced him as a radical new musical force.

Often subject to self-doubt, Tchaikovsky etched his personal struggles into the fabric of his final three symphonies. In each, the forces of fate acting against individual freedom are given intensely dramatic and sometimes tragic expression, but in his Fifth Symphony the emotional journey ends triumphantly. Tchaikovsky’s masterful development of its eloquent opening theme ensured that it became the most popular of all his symphonies, with passionate melodies, a roll call of perfectly-pitched solos, and an irresistible marching finale to bring it home.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: Dr Katy Hamilton introduces the programme.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.