We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Armenian State Symphony Orchestra

Thursday February 16, 2023 at 19:00
Sheffield City Hall, Sheffield
£22.50, £27.95, £30.50; tickets for children (16 years and under)/students/groups of 10+: £9
Other Sources: Sheffield City Hall Box Office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Excerpts, from Spartacus - Aram Khachaturian
  2. Concerto for Violin and Strings in D minor - Felix Mendelssohn
  3. Symphony No 4 in F minor Op 36 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

In his second appearance this season, Sergey Smbatyan returns to the podium this time with the Armenian State Symphony Orchestra, an ensemble he founded in 2005 and which he has led as Artistic Director and Principal Conductor ever since. He opens the concert with music written by fellow Armenian, Aram Khachaturian, whose ballet Spartacus includes the famous and expressive Adagio. British violinist Chloë Hanslip makes a welcome return performing Mendelssohn’s masterful Violin Concerto, one of the composer’s most beloved works. The orchestra brings the concert to a close with Tchaikovsky’s fateful Fourth Symphony. The work moves through moments of melancholy, anguish and poignancy, from its ominous opening bars to its frenzied finale.

Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool, Balm Green
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA

This advertisement was submitted by Sheffield City Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.