We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Scriabin's Prometheus and Rachmaninoff's The Bells | Philharmonia Orchestra

Thursday May 11, 2023 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£10-£65; multi-buy offer available; under 18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse (limited availability)
Phone for tickets: 0800 652 6717
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Bells Op 35 - Sergey Rachmaninoff
  2. From the Apocalypse Op 66 - Anatoly Konstantinovich Lyadov
  3. Prometheus, 'Le poeme du feu', for piano and orchestra Op 60 - Alexander Scriabin

Enter the kaleidoscopic world of Scriabin, as we recreate his Prometheus, complete with the colours he saw when he heard different sounds.

Most of us will never know what it’s like to have synaesthesia – where two senses, in Scriabin’s case hearing and sight, are linked. But in his mystical masterpiece Prometheus: The Poem of Fire he did his best to share his experience with us. As well as solo piano, organ, chorus and an array of percussion, the score contains a part for ‘colour organ’, indicating the colours that should flood the concert hall at each key moment in the music.

First, there’s a rare opportunity to hear Rachmaninoff’s The Bells, based on poems by Edgar Allan Poe. From the youthful frivolity of a sleigh ride, through the sensuous promise of a wedding day to the grim tolling of funeral bells, Rachmaninov charts life’s milestones in music of huge emotional impact.

Liadov’s From the Apocalypse, with its enigmatic references to the biblical Book of Revelation, completes this programme of music from the years of unrest and artistic experimentation leading up to the Russian Revolution.

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road

This advertisement was submitted by Philharmonia Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.