We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Yuja Wang: Making History | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday May 25, 2023 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£65 £49 £35 £24 £18; £10/£15 Wildcard tickets; £5 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Piano Concerto No 3 (UK premiere) - Magnus Lindberg
  2. Symphony No 6 in F, 'Pastoral' - Ludwig van Beethoven

Yuja Wang gives the UK premiere of Magnus Lindberg’s flamboyant new Piano Concerto: outsized inspiration, for a pianist who knows no limits.

Beethoven said that his ‘Pastoral’ Symphony was ‘more an expression of feelings than a picture’, but the result is some of the freshest and happiest music ever created. As for Magnus Lindberg’s new Piano Concerto … well, it’s never been heard in the UK before, but everything Lindberg writes causes a sensation. ‘It’s huge’ he says. ‘In a way, it’s the biggest piece I’ve written’.

You’d expect no less, because he wrote it specially for our soloist Yuja Wang – probably the most famous pianist in the world right now. ‘Yuja Wang’s pianism inspires a sense of wonder’ wrote one critic after she played solo at the Barbican; tonight, she makes musical history in a concerto that Lindberg says is as dramatic as any opera. And if any pianist can do drama, it’s Yuja Wang.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.