We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Myth and Magic – Thomas Adès | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday May 30, 2024 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£70 £55 £39 £25 £18, £12/£16 Wildcard tickets, £6 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Orpheus - Igor Stravinsky
  2. Partita for violin and piano - Witold Lutoslawski
  3. Air (Concerto for violin and orchestra) (UK premiere) - Thomas Adès
  4. Agon - Igor Stravinsky

Threads of the past are woven into a radiant future in four ingenious compositions, presented by Thomas Adès, Anne-Sophie Mutter and the LSO.

Stravinsky didn’t attend the premiere of Agon on his 75th birthday, worried that audiences wouldn’t like his new direction. But the ballet was greeted with shouts and whistles, its bracing music compared to Champagne. It’s a cool and considered triumph which melds together ingredients from Baroque to jazz.

Lutoslawski’s delicate Partita and Adès’ arching Air convert age-old structures into intriguingly unfamiliar objets d’art.

Like Agon, Orpheus was a balletic collaboration between Stravinsky and choreographer George Balanchine. Orpheus’s traditional lyre becomes a harp in Stravinsky’s elegant, ritualistic music.

His music shapes the sound of the present moment, and Thomas Adès presents a much-anticipated UK premiere in this concert. Air was co-commissioned by violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, for whom Lutoslawski’s Partita was also written.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.